I am a Dorito

A little drawing I did while reflecting on today’s blog post

If what they say is true, ‘you are what you eat,’ then today I am unquestionably… a Dorito.

Thoroughly and with complete dedication, I started my day passive with just the right amount of sulk. I awoke from a dream that I had won $90,000.00, to be exact, from a Bingo scratch ticket. Realizing it was all just a dream I decided to roll over, flip my pillow to the cold side, and dive back into the life of the rich and famous.

Finally deciding that I should start my day, I hesitatingly rolled out of bed around 11:45am. I sank into my butt groove on the chaise as the Keurig was brewing a perfect French Vanilla for me in the background. Is today going to be the day? You know, the day I have been talking about: the day I get organized, the day I get “on-track,” the day I get healthy. No. It won’t.

Seeing how I already missed breakfast I decided to get right to lunch. Hmmmm… yogurt? Boiled egg and toast? Soup? Nah. Two pizza pockets were nuking to perfection in the microwave. There’s a lot of quality television on a Sunday. I took in a few episodes of “Four Weddings” (eating only a handful of Sweet Chili Heat Doritos, because I’ll only have 6 and be satisfied), then watched four consecutive episodes of some guys flipping houses (now standing in the kitchen and slowly eating one Dorito at a time from the bag, because if I only eat one at a time instead of a bowl or handful it won’t count as that much), only to move on to the three final episodes of “Launch My Line” (finishing the bag of Doritos).

Dying now on the couch as I am overfull and have consumed far too much salt than is good for an army of people I sulk: Whhhhyyy? OH WHY do I do this to myself. Maybe I’ll just stop blogging about it. Maybe I’ll open up the bag of tacos and melt some cheese onto them. The gym closes at 8:00pm on Sunday. It’s already 6:00pm. I don’t even have time to go. 

But WAIT! A quote, yes, an actual quote I had once read online by Horace has come to mind: “Rule your mind or it will rule you.” Well said, Horace, well said. I packed up my gym bag and was on my way (avoiding death en route because of an impatient driver passing traffic while driving in the oncoming lane). Despite all of my bad decisions today, despite the pizza pockets, and despite the bag of Doritos (OK… and a nanaimo bar that I forgot to mention), I decided to go to the gym. Honestly, I felt like crap my whole workout- but I did it. I pushed myself to the verge of vomiting. 

As it turns out, I am not a Dorito. I just ate a lot of them today, and I most likely won’t tomorrow (because there aren’t any left in the house). I am someone on a weight-loss journey that doesn’t always make the best decisions; however, every once in a while I surprise myself and make a good one 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stronglikemycoffee
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 17:19:23

    Haha I love the drawing – every dorito needs a sweatband!

    Reply

DrOp Me A LiNe....

